Greyfriars Kirkyard
Adapted from Wikipedia Β· Discoverer experience
Greyfriars Kirkyard is the graveyard around Greyfriars Kirk in Edinburgh, Scotland. It sits at the southern edge of the Old Town, close to George Heriot's School. People have been buried there since the late 1500s, and many well-known people from Edinburgh rest there.
The Kirkyard is managed by the City of Edinburgh Council together with a special charity group that works with, but is separate from, the church. The Kirkyard and its many monuments are important historic sites and are protected as a category A listed building. It is a special place that helps us remember the past.
History
Greyfriars Kirkyard gets its name from the Franciscan friary nearby, where the friars wore grey clothes. The churchyard started in August 1562 after getting permission from the king to replace the old burial ground at St Giles' Cathedral in Edinburgh. People stopped using that old burial ground around the year 1600.
The Kirkyard played a part in the history of the Covenanters. The National Covenant, an important promise for freedom, was signed in Greyfriars Kirk on February 28, 1638. After the Covenanters lost a battle at Bothwell Brig in 1679, about 1200 of them were kept in a field south of the churchyard. Later, when part of that field was added to the churchyard for family tombs, the area became known as the "Covenanters' Prison."
In the 1840s, famous photographers David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson used the kirkyard for portraits and scenes, like one called The Artist and The Gravedigger.
Covenanters
The National Covenant was signed in the kirkyard in 1638 because it was a place where people could meet freely. After the Battle of Bothwell Bridge on June 22, 1679, about 1200 prisoners came to Edinburgh. There wasn't enough space in the prison or castle, so they were kept in a field south of Greyfriars Kirkyard. This field was naturally enclosed by walls on three sides and had a fence on the fourth side.
The name Covenanters Prison stayed even after the area was mostly built over by the city around 1690. A small part of that land, between the built area and George Heriot's School, was used for more burials starting around 1700. During that time, people built vaults to hold families, and that style is still seen there today. These vaults werenβt there when the area was used as a prison, so they were never used that way.
People could see this area until around 1990, but then the City of Edinburgh Council locked it to stop vandalism and people using it for harmful activities. You can visit during the day by arranging with guides at Greyfriars Kirk or at night on a City of the Dead Tour, where you can see the Black Mausoleum.
Greyfriars Bobby
The kirkyard is famous for Greyfriars Bobby, a loyal dog who watched over his owner's grave. A stone for Bobby was put up by the Dog Aid Society in 1981, but some think he was actually buried under a tree just outside the gates. There is a statue of Bobby near the kirkyard gate where George IV Bridge meets Candlemaker Row. The grave of Bobbyβs owner, a shepherd named "Auld Jock" (John Gray), is on the east path about 30 meters north of the entrance. The stone there is newer, as the original grave didnβt have a marker.
Because it is thoct gude that thair be na buriall within the Kirk, and that the kirk-zaird is nocht of sufficient rowme for bureing of the deid, and for esdrewing of the savour and inconvenientis that may follow thairupon in the heit of somer, it would be providit that ane buriall place be maid farrer from the myddis of the town, sic as in the Greyfreir zaird and the somyn biggit and maid close. | Because it is thought beneficial that there should be no more burials within the church [ie St Giles], and because that kirkyard is not thought to have sufficient room for burying the dead, and taking into consideration the smell and inconvenience in the heat of summer, it would be provided [by the council] that a burial place be made further from the middle of town, such as in Greyfriars yard, and the same [should be] built up and made secure. |
Monuments
In Greyfriars Kirkyard, you can find special stone walls and iron fences around some burial places. These were built to stop people from stealing bodies, which was a problem a long time ago.
The graveyard has beautiful stone monuments with symbols about life and death, like angels and kings. Some important monuments include one for brave people called the Martyrβs Monument and a fancy tomb for a man named Sir George Mackenzie, made to look like a famous building.
Bloody MacKenzie's Tomb
Long ago, two boys broke into Sir George MacKenzieβs tomb and took a skull from inside. The police found them playing with it, but they did not get into serious trouble.
Notable burials
Greyfriars Kirkyard in Edinburgh, Scotland, is a historic graveyard where many important people from the city's past are buried. The burials date back to the late 1500s, making it a place of great historical interest.
Some of the notable individuals buried here include architects, judges, scientists, and writers. The graveyard holds the remains of people who shaped Edinburgh and Scotland in many ways. Notable burials include:
- William Adam (architect) (1689β1748), with his son John Adam (architect) (1721β1792)
- William Adam of Blair Adam (1751β1839), judge
- Alexander Adie FRSE (1775β1859), optical instrument maker
- David Aikinhead (1566β1637), twice Lord Provost of Edinburgh, 1620β22 and 1625β30
- William Annand (1633β1681), minister and Dean of St Giles Cathedral
- Robert Baird of Saughtonhall (1630β1697), Cashier of the Scottish Carolina Company
- John Bayne of Pitcairlie (1620β1681), Writer to the Signet
- Leslie Balfour-Melville (1854β1937), golfer
- John Beugo (1759β1841), engraver
- Joseph Black (1728β1799), physician (CP)
- Rev Hugh Blair (1718β1800)
- Sir James Hunter Blair, 1st Baronet (1741β1787)
- Robert Blair, Lord Avontoun (1741β1811), judge (CP)
- Very Rev Andrew Brown (1763β1834), minister and historian of Nova Scotia
- George Buchanan (died 1582), historian and reformer
- James Buchanan of Drumpellier (1726β1786), twice Lord Provost of Glasgow after whom Buchanan Street is named
- James Burnett, Lord Monboddo (1714β1799), judge (CP β unmarked)
- Sir John Byres of Coates (Coittes) (1569β1629)
- Robert Cadell (1788β1849), publisher
- Archibald Campbell, 9th Earl of Argyll (1629β1685), nobleman
- General Duncan Campbell of Lochnell (1763β1837)
- Very Rev Dr John Campbell (1758β1828), Moderator of the Church of Scotland in 1818
- Sir Hugh Campbell of Cesnock, covenanter and MP for Ayrshire (1615β1688)
- Aglionby Ross Carson FRSE (1780β1850), rector of the High School 1820β1845, author
- William Carstares (1649β1715), churchman and statesman
- Colonel Francis Charteris (1675β1732), notorious rake and member of the Hellfire club
- Robert Chieslie (c. 1650 β c. 1705), Lord Provost who lost a fortune in the Darien scheme and died in Darien House (the asylum).
- Prof Alexander Christison FRSE (1753β1820)
- William Colvill (d. 1675), principal of University of Edinburgh, location unknown
- William Coulter, Lord Provost of Edinburgh (1808β1810)
- Bishop William Cowper (1568β1619)
- James Craig (1739β1795), architect and designer of Edinburgh's New Town
- William Creech (1745β1815), bookseller and Lord Provost of Edinburgh
- Andrew Crosbie (1736β1785), lawyer and founding Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (unmarked)
- Sir Hugh Cunningham of Bonnington (1643β1710), Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1702β04 (CP)
- John Dalrymple (1734β1779), Lord Provost 1770 and 1777 (CP)
- Prof Andrew Dalzell, FRSE Professor of Greek at the University of Edinburgh (1742β1806)
- Charles Kemp Davidson, Lord Davidson (1929β2009), Senator of the College of Justice
- Forrest Dewar (1748β1817), surgeon, President of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh 1786/88
- Alexander Donaldson (1727β1794), bookseller and publisher
- Admiral Sir Charles Douglas, 1st Baronet (1727β1789)
- James Douglas, 4th Earl of Morton (c. 1516β1581), Regent of Scotland
- Adam Drummond of Binend (1679β1758), Professor of Anatomy at the University of Edinburgh
- Adam Drummond (1713β1786)
- Very Rev John Drysdale FRSE DD (1718β1788), twice Moderator of the Church of Scotland in both 1773 and 1784, son-in-law to William Adam and buried in the Adam mausoleum
- Prof George Dunbar (classical scholar) (1777β1851)
- William Dunlop (ecclesiastical historian) (1692β1720)
- John Erskine (theologian) (1721β1803)
- Mary Erskine (1629β1708), founder of The Mary Erskine School (CP)
- Sir David Falconer (1640β1685), judge
- Sir James Falconer of Phesdo (1648β1706), judge and Senator of the College of Justice
- Sir Adam Ferguson (1770β1854), soldier son of Adam Ferguson (CP)
- James Ferguson, Lord Pitfour (1700β1777)
- Admiral John Macpherson Ferguson (1784β1855), younger son of Adam Ferguson (CP)
- John MacMorran (1553β1595), Burgh official shot by schoolchildren.
- Duncan Forbes, Lord Culloden (1685β1747), politician and judge
- Sir William Forbes, 6th Baronet of Monymusk and Pitsligo FRSE (1739β1806) and his son Sir William Forbes, 7th Baronet (1773β1828), banker
- Sir James Forrest, 1st Baronet (1780β1860), Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1837β43
- Alexander Forrester (1611β1686)
- Francis Garden, Lord Gardenstone (1721β1793), judge (unmarked grave)
- William Ged (1699β1749), inventor of stereotyping (unmarked grave)
- Walter Geikie (1795β1837), artist
- Arthur Giles (1834β1921), Princes Street bookseller and printer
- Adam Gillies, Lord Gillies (1760β1842), judge (CP)
- Dr John Gordon (1786β1818), anatomist and anti-phrenologist
- Lewis Duncan Brodie Gordon (1815β1876), civil engineer
- Very Rev Prof John Gowdie (1682β1762), Moderator in 1733, Principal of University of Edinburgh
- Admiral Alexander Graeme (1741β1818), naval officer
- James Graham (1745β1794), quack doctor who pioneered sex therapy and invented earth-bathing
- James Gillespie Graham (1777β1855), architect (CP)
- Lord Patrick Grant (1691β1754), judge (CP)
- John Gray (died 1858), owner of Greyfriars Bobby
- John Hall of Dunglass (1650β1695), Lord Provost and his great grandson Sir James Hall (1761β1832) geologist
- Robert Hamilton (advocate) FRSE (1763β1831), friend of Sir Walter Scott
- Matthew Hardie (1755β1826), violin maker nicknamed the 'Scottish Stradivari'
- Franz Hedrich (1823β1895), German poet
- Alexander Henderson (died 1646), churchman and statesman
- Thomas Henderson FRSE (1798β1844), unmarked within the grave of his father-in-law Alexander Adie
- George Heriot (1540β1610), goldsmith, father to George Heriot
- Rev Prof John Hill FRSE (1747β1805), classicist
- Vice Admiral Sir George Home (1740β1803)
- Sir James Home (1790β1836)
- Vice Admiral Sir John Home of Blackadder (died 1803)
- John Hope (botanist) (1725β1786), his physician son, Thomas Charles Hope (1766β1844), his grandson, John Hope (lawyer) (1807β1893), and five other members of his family
- Sir Thomas Hope, 1st Baronet (1573β1646)
- William Howison (1798β1850), engraver
- Alexander Gibson Hunter of Blackness (1771β1812), book collector and publisher in partnership with Archibald Constable
- James Hutton (1726β1797), geologist (CP)
- Sir David Innes (died 1866)
- Gilbert Innes of Stow (died 1832)
- George Jamesone (1587β1644), Scotland's foremost 17th century portrait artist
- John Kay (caricaturist) (1742β1826)
- Alexander Kemp FRSE (1822β1854), chemist
- Robert Kerr (1759β1813), scientific author
- Rev James Kirkton (1628β1699) in the Trotter vault
- James L'Amy of Dunkenny FRSE (1772β1854), advocate and phrenologist
- John Law (c. 1632β1712), minister and prisoner on the Bass Rock
- Sir John Leach (1760β1834), judge, buried in the Adam mausoleum
- John Learmonth of Dean (1789β1858), Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1831β33 (CP) and his ancestor James Learmonth, Lord Balcomie
- William Little (1525β1601), twice Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1586 and 1591
- Sir George Lockhart (1630β1689), murder victim buried in Mackenzie's tomb
- Thomas McCrie (1772β1835), historian, and his son Thomas M'Crie the Younger (1797β1875)
- Alexander MacDuff of Bonhard FRSE (1816β1866)
- William McGonagall (1825β1902), poet
- Duncan Ban MacIntyre (1724β1812), Gaelic poet
- Colin MacLaurin (1698β1746), mathematician, and his son John Maclaurin, Lord Dreghorn (1734β1796)
- Hugh Mackail, martyr (1640?β1666), minister hanged at the market-cross after being tortured with the boot
- Sir George Mackenzie (1636β1691), Lord Advocate
- Henry Mackenzie (1745β1831), writer and author of The Man of Feeling, father of Joshua Henry Mackenzie, Lord Mackenzie (1774β1851)
- Sir James McLurg of Vogrie (1629β1717), Dean of Guild, philanthropist, major investor in the Darien scheme (CP)
- John Manderston, Lord Provost of Edinburgh (1819β21)
- Sir John Medina (1659β1710), prominent artist (the "sunken" vault on the east side)
- Alexander Miller (died 1616), tailor to James VI
- Patrick Miller of Dalswinton (1731β1815), steamship inventor
- Alexander Moncrieff (1613β1688), prominent 17C minister, grandfather of Alexander Moncrieff
- Mary Arbuthnot Moir (1804β1900), friend of Walter Scott
- Robert Scott Moncrieff (1793β1869), advocate and amateur artist, father of Colin Scott-Moncrieff (CP)
- Dr. Alexander Monro (1697β1767), father of Alexander (1733β1817), famed anatomists
- Alexander Monteith (surgeon) (1660β1713), surgeon and apothecary
- Sir Harry Munro, 7th Baronet (1720β1781), military leader during the Rebellion of 1745
- Sir Archibald Muir, twice Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1691β92 and 1696β98
- Prof Alexander Murray (1775β1813)
- James Murray of Deuchar (1571β1649), wealthy merchant
- John Mylne (1611β1667), mason and architect
- Sir William Newbigging FRSE (1772β1852), physician
- Alexander Nisbet (1657β1725), antiquarian and author of A System of Heraldry (grave location unclear)
- John Nisbet (1627β1685), Covenanter, hanged at the Grassmarket
- William Oliphant, Lord Newton (1561β1628), judge
- John Paton, Covenanter and army captain, executed in 1684
- Archibald Pitcairne (1652β1713), physician
- Captain John Porteous (c. 1695β1736), soldier and lynching victim, after whom the Porteous Riots are named
- Gilbert Primrose (1535β1616), surgeon
- James Rae (surgeon) (1716β1791)
- Allan Ramsay (1686β1758), poet
- Archibald Riddell (minister), prisoner on the Bass Rock and covenanting minister at New Jersey and Edinburgh
- General Henry James Riddell (died 1861), commander in chief of the Scottish army
- Thomas Riddell, possible inspiration for J. K. Rowling's fictional character who cannot be named
- William Ritchie (1781β1832), founder and editor of The Scotsman
- William Robertson D.D. (1721β1793), historian and his son Lt Col David Robertson MacDonald
- William Robertson (antiquary) FRSE (1740β1803)
- George Romanes FRS (1848β1894) (memorial only)
- William Roxburgh (1751β1815), botanist
- Thomas Ruddiman (1674β1757), classical scholar and grammarian
- Gilbert Rule (1629 (approx) β 1701), minister and the Principal of Edinburgh University from 1690 to 1701
- Sir William Scott of Thirlestane (1670β1725), landowner and poet (CP)
- Sir Robert Sibbald (1641β1722), physician and botanist
- Henry Siddons (1774β1815), failed actor, son of Sarah Siddons, husband of Harriet Siddons
- Sir James Skene (died 1633), President of the College of Justice
- John Skene, Lord Curriehill (died 1617)
- William Smellie (encyclopedist) (1740β1795) creator of the EncyclopΓ¦dia Britannica
- Sir James Spittal (1769β1842), Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1833 until 1837 and his son Dr Robert Spittal
- Sir James Stewart (Lord Advocate) (1635β1713), location of grave unknown
- Rev Dr. Matthew Stewart (mathematician) (1717β1785), father of Dugald Stewart (unmarked grave)
- James Stirling (1692β1770), mathematician
- Sir James Stirling, 1st Baronet (1739β1805), three times Lord Provost of Edinburgh and Sir Gilbert Stirling, baronet
- Rev James Struthers (1770β1807), famous orator
- James Stuart of Binend (1716β1777), twice Lord Provost of Edinburgh, father of Charles Stuart of Dunearn (1745β1826)
- Prof John Thomson FRS FRSE (1765β1846), President of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
- Archibald Tod (d. 1656), twice Lord Provost of Edinburgh 1646β48 and 1651β54
- Robert Traill (1603β1678), minister of the parish
- The Trotter family of Mortonhall
- William Trotter of Ballindean (1772β1833), famous furniture maker and also Lord Provost 1825 to 1827
- William Tytler (1711β1792), father of Alexander Fraser Tytler (1747β1813), grandson of Patrick Fraser Tytler (1789β1849) (CP)
- Barbara and Mary Walker of Coates, rich spinsters who paid for St Marys Episcopal Cathedral in the west of the city
- William Wallace (1768β1843), mathematician
- George Watson (1654β1723), accountant and founder of George Watson's College
- James Watson (died 1722), printer and publisher. Founder of the Edinburgh Gazette and Edinburgh Courant.
- John Watson W.S. (died 1762), founder of John Watson's Institution, now the Gallery of Modern Art
- John Wilson of Kilmaurs, executed 22 December 1666 for his part in the Pentland Rising
- Patrick Wilson (1798β1871), architect
- Robert Whytt (1714β1766), physician and president of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh (CP)
- Very Rev William Wishart (1660β1729), father of William Wishart (secundus) (CP)
- William Wright (1735β1819), botanist
Images
Related articles
This article is a child-friendly adaptation of the Wikipedia article on Greyfriars Kirkyard, available under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Images from Wikimedia Commons. Tap any image to view credits and license.
Safekipedia