Safekipedia

Queen's Hall, Edinburgh

Adapted from Wikipedia Β· Discoverer experience

Portrait of pianist David Wilde performing at The Queen's Hall in Edinburgh.

The Queen's Hall is a special place for music and performances in the Southside of Edinburgh, Scotland. It started in 1824 as a place for people to meet called Hope Park Chapel. Over time, it had many names and uses. In 1979, it became the Queen's Hall, named after Elizabeth II, who opened it again that year.

Many famous musicians have played there, like Nina Simone, Nick Cave, and Adele. Every year, the Queen's Hall welcomes around 90,000 visitors for about 200 concerts. It is special because it is the only big venue that can host events for the Edinburgh International Festival, the Edinburgh Fringe, and the Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival.

The building was designed in a neat and grand style called neoclassical by Robert Brown. It can hold up to 900 people. Inside, you can see two big boards from the 1700s that show important prayers and rules. The building has been very important since 1970 and is protected as a Category A listed building.

Newington and St Leonard's Parish Church

Hope Park Chapel (1822βˆ’1834)

The south-eastern part of the West Kirk Parish needed more space for worship by the 1750s. By 1822, the area was growing, and the church leaders decided to build a new chapel. They collected money and found a place on South Clerk Street near the Meadows. The chapel opened in 1824 and could seat 1,700 people.

Hope Park Chapel on a map of 1825, showing its open surroundings at the time of its erection

Newington Parish Church

In 1834, the chapel became Newington Parish Church. Over time, the church helped the community, especially in poorer areas. It started schools and supported missions to help people in need.

Mission and St Leonard's Parish Church

St Leonard's Parish Church opened in 1879 and united with Newington in 1932.

The church also helped build another church in St Leonard's, which opened in 1879. Sadly, a fire damaged it soon after, but it was rebuilt.

Reunion (1929–1976)

Later, the Church of Scotland combined some churches. Newington and St Leonard's joined together. As the area’s population shrank, the church eventually closed in 1976.

Newington Parish Church in 1914

Ministers

The following ministers served Hope Park Chapel (1824–1834); Newington Parish Church (1834–1932); and Newington and St Leonard's Parish Church (1932–1976):

Robert Gordon: the congregation's first minister

1824–1825 Robert Gordon
1826–1828 John Forbes
1829–1844 David Runciman
1859–1871 James Elder Cumming
1871–1898 John Alison
1898–1932 Hugh Cameron
1932–1940 William Liddle
1940–1956 Edwin Sprott Towill
1957–1976 Matthew Shields

The following ministers served St Leonard's Parish Church (1879–1932):

1879–1903 Lewis Frederick Armitage
1904–1912 John Calder
1913–1932 William Liddle

Queen's Hall

History

The Queen's Hall in Edinburgh started as Hope Park Chapel, opening in 1824. Later, it became a special place for music and performances. In 1979, after being turned into a concert hall, it was named The Queen's Hall to honor Edinburgh's royal history.

A plaque in the hall's vestibule marking its opening on 6 July 1979 by Queen Elizabeth: the hall's namesake

The change from a chapel to a concert hall began when groups like the Scottish Chamber Orchestra needed a permanent home. Architects worked on plans, and with help from many people and groups, the hall opened officially in July 1979. Since then, the hall has been improved many times to better serve musicians and visitors.

Today

The Queen's Hall continues to be a busy place for concerts. It has welcomed famous artists and hosts many events each year, including parts of the Edinburgh International Festival, the Edinburgh Fringe, and the Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival. The hall can hold nearly 1,700 people and has many facilities for performers.

In 2017, the hall began a big project to make improvements, supported by the Scottish Government. Even during the COVID-19 pandemic, when it was closed for over a year, work continued to make the hall better for everyone.

Building

The Queen's Hall was designed in a simple, neat style by Robert Brown. It was given special protection as a Category A building on December 14, 1970.

The steeple with the Salisbury Crags in the background

The front of the building has a central part with three sections, separated by four tall, thin columns under a simple triangle shape on top. Each section has windows and doors arranged in two levels. Similar sections are on each side of the central part. A small tower sits above the center, with a clock and a dome on top. The whole building is about 35 meters tall and stands out in the Southside area of Edinburgh.

Inside, there is a large space for performances with tall windows and special columns supporting upper levels. The ceiling has a design of circles and flower patterns. The building changed a lot when it became the Queen's Hall in 1979, with new seating, better heating, and extra rooms for smaller events.

Images

A historical board displaying the 10 commandments, housed in the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh.
The entrance to the Scottish National Portrait Gallery on 1 Queen Street in Edinburgh, a historic building with interesting architecture.
A beautiful small chapel in Edinburgh, Scotland, known as Saint Margaret's Chapel.

Related articles

This article is a child-friendly adaptation of the Wikipedia article on Queen's Hall, Edinburgh, available under CC BY-SA 4.0.

Images from Wikimedia Commons. Tap any image to view credits and license.