Yates Mill
Adapted from Wikipedia · Discoverer experience
Yates Mill is a fully restored gristmill from the year 1756. It is located five miles south of downtown Raleigh, North Carolina, in the United States. The mill is the main feature of Historic Yates Mill County Park, which is found in central Wake County.
The park includes the restored mill and a visitor center. The center has a museum that teaches about milling and the natural history of the area. It also has classrooms, an auditorium, and space for research by North Carolina State University faculty and students.
There is also a beautiful 20-acre lake and many hiking trails in the park. The park is managed as a wildlife refuge. Its goal is to study and share the cultural, natural, and agricultural history of the area.
History
Yates Mill is one of the oldest buildings in Wake County and the only working gristmill left in the area. For nearly 200 years, this water-powered mill made lumber, ground corn and wheat, and processed wool. The land was surveyed for Samuel Pearson in October 1756 and given to him by the Earl of Granville, one of North Carolina’s leaders at the time. The original mill was built around that time. Over the years, the mill changed owners several times.
During the Civil War, there was a story about someone named Penny who may have been involved in a serious problem with another person. Later, the mill was almost burned down but the fire was stopped. In 1948, a businessman named A. E. Finley bought the mill, but it closed in 1953 because it wasn’t being used much. North Carolina State University later took care of the property. In 1989, efforts began to restore the mill. After a storm damaged the old dam in 1996, work continued to fix and preserve the mill. Today, Yates Mill is a historic landmark and part of a beautiful park.
Current use
Yates Mill was empty for a few years until restoration work started in 1988 by Yates Mill Associates, Inc. Today, the mill looks like it did in the mid-1800s, with working machines for grinding corn and wheat. Since it opened to the public on May 20, 2006, people can take tours and see corn grinding demonstrations on certain days.
The restoration was made possible through donations from government groups, North Carolina State University, foundations, companies, and private people. North Carolina State University gave 154 acres of land for long-term use, which helps with ongoing natural history research.
Wake County added 16 acres to the park, and the North Carolina Department of Agriculture provided access to another 400 acres. The Wake County Parks, Recreation and Open Space Department helped build the 574-acre park, including the A.E. Finley Center for Education and Research. The county also provides staff and support to run the park. Yates Mill Associates uses private donations and volunteers to care for the mill and its demonstrations.
Related articles
This article is a child-friendly adaptation of the Wikipedia article on Yates Mill, available under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Images from Wikimedia Commons. Tap any image to view credits and license.
Safekipedia